163 Pittsburg Street, Suite A2, Dallas, TX 75207


909 E. McKinney St., Denton, TX 76209


1502 W. University Suite #101, McKinney, TX 75069

Do I Need to Pay Bail if I Am Arrested for DWI in Texas?

 Posted on October 15, 2020 in Bail Bonds

Collin County bail bonds issuer DUI

There are many reasons a person may be arrested and booked into one of the jails in North Texas. While some types of criminal charges, such as violent crimes or sex crimes, are very serious, others, such as shoplifting, may seem less so, since they will likely have less severe consequences. Driving while intoxicated, or DWI, falls somewhere between these two extremes, and a person who is arrested may be unsure about the procedures that will be followed and the steps they will need to take to get out of jail.

Bail Amounts for DWI Arrests

Whenever a person is arrested and charged with a crime, a judge will set certain conditions to determine whether the defendant can be released. In some cases, a person may be “released on his or her own recognizance,” and the accused will agree to show up in court on a specified date without being required to pay any money. However, in most DWI cases, a judge will set an amount of bail that must be paid before a person can be released.

The judge can set bail at whatever amount he or she thinks is appropriate, and this amount will be based on the severity of the charges and the circumstances of the arrest, as well as other factors that may affect a case. In first-time DWI cases, bail will usually be between $200 and $1,000. Bail will usually be higher for a second DWI or any additional drunk driving arrests. In felony DWI cases that involve an accident that caused serious injuries or death, bail could be $5,000-$10,000. Some other factors that may lead to higher bail amounts include:

  • Any previous convictions for felonies or violent crimes that may show that a person is a danger to the community

  • Evidence that a person may be a “flight risk,” meaning that he or she may leave the state or fail to appear at future court dates

  • The person’s behavior during a traffic stop or a DWI arrest, such as refusing to comply with an officer’s requests or resisting arrest

  • Refusal to submit to a chemical blood alcohol content (BAC) test after being arrested

Posting Bail to Get Out of a Jail in Dallas

When a judge sets the amount of bail that must be paid, a person can obtain a bail bond and get released from jail. In most cases, an inmate’s friend or family member can pay 10 percent of the total bail amount, and a bail bondsman will post the full amount with the court. At Doc’s Bail Bonds, we make the bail bonds process as easy and affordable as possible. We offer flexible payment plans, and our experience working with personnel at jails and courts throughout the Dallas/Fort Worth areas will help you get out of jail quickly. To learn how we can help with your case, contact our reputable Collin County bail bondsmen at 214-747-4110.




Share this post:
Back to Top