163 Pittsburg Street, Suite A2, Dallas, TX 75207


909 E. McKinney St., Denton, TX 76209


1502 W. University Suite #101, McKinney, TX 75069

Understanding Bail for DWI Offenses in Texas

 Posted on August 08, 2022 in Bail Bonds

Dallas bail bondsmanDrunk driving is one of the most common reasons people are arrested. While it is understood by most that driving while intoxicated is illegal, there are many situations where people get behind the wheel after having too much to drink. Gauging your level of intoxication can be difficult, and knowing exactly when you are over the legal limit is not always easy, especially since the use of alcohol can affect your judgment and make you feel like you are safe to drive. If you are arrested for DWI, you will need to determine how you can get out of jail quickly. While bail bonds are usually available, it is important to understand the factors that may affect the amount of bail that you may be required to pay.

Texas DWI Laws

Intoxication may occur in cases where a person does not have full control of themselves physically or mentally due to the use of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of substances. Anyone who has a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08 percent is considered to be intoxicated. Operating a vehicle while intoxicated may potentially result in a DWI arrest.

If a police officer pulls you over and establishes probable cause to arrest you for DWI, you may be taken into custody. “Probable cause” is a reason to believe that you were intoxicated at the time that you were driving. This may be established through an officer’s observations, such as noticing slurred speech, smelling alcohol on your breath, or observing movements that indicate a lack of bodily coordination. An officer may also ask you to take a roadside breathalyzer test or to step outside of your vehicle and engage in field sobriety tests, such as walking in a straight line or standing on one foot. You are allowed to refuse these tests, although a refusal may give the officer a reason to suspect that you are intoxicated. If you are arrested and asked to take a breathalyzer test or another type of blood alcohol test at the police station, your refusal to take one of these tests will result in the automatic suspension of your driver’s license.

Once you are formally charged with DWI, a judge will set an amount of bail that must be paid before you can be released. If this is your first time being arrested or charged with DWI, bail may be relatively low, and you may need to pay around $1,000 or less. However, there are certain circumstances that could increase the amount of bail, including:

  • You have one or more previous DWI convictions.

  • A child under the age of 15 was in the vehicle when you were pulled over.

  • You are being charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter because you were involved in an accident in which someone was injured or killed.

  • You have previously been convicted of other crimes, such as violent felonies.

  • The judge believes you are a potential danger to the community due to problems with alcohol or drug addiction.

  • The judge is concerned that you may fail to appear in court to address DWI charges.

Contact Our McKinney DWI Bail Bond Professionals

Dealing with DWI charges can be difficult, but your first priority should be to make sure you can be released from police custody or jail so that you can start building a defense strategy. At Doc's Bail Bonds, we can make sure you follow the right steps to post bail right away, and if you have limited financial resources, we will work with you to determine the most affordable methods of paying the required amount. Contact a Denton County bail bondsman at 214-747-4110 to get started.



Share this post:
Back to Top